Posted on March 12, 2019

Springfield, Mo. — Defending World TeamTennis Champions the Springfield Lasers have released their 2019 season schedule, including seven home matches to be played at the Lasers’ home court at Cooper Tennis Complex.

The Lasers open the season in Springfield Sunday, July 14, facing the Philadelphia Freedoms, the same line-up for the Aug. 5, 2018 WTT Finals, where the Lasers captured their first Championship Trophy in the team’s 23-year history, beating Philadelphia 19-18.

This summer, the WTT league adds two new teams: the Orlando Storm, in Lake Nona, Fla.; and the Vegas Rollers, in Las Vegas, Nev. This expansion brings the total to eight teams in the league, including the New York Empire, Washington Kastles, Orange County Breakers, San Diego Aviators, Philadelphia Freedoms and Springfield Lasers.

All eight teams will draft their players at the WTT Draft March 12, in Indian Wells, Calif. The draft begins at 1 p.m. CST, and will be updated live on WTT.TV and Facebook @Springfield Lasers

The Lasers regular season includes seven home (in bold) and seven away matches:

Sun., July 14 Season opener Philadelphia at Springfield

Tues., July 16 Orlando at Springfield

Wed, July 17 New York at Springfield

Thurs., July 18 Washington at Springfield

Sat., July 20 Springfield at Las Vegas

Sun., July 21 Springfield at San Diego

Mon., July 22 Springfield at Orange County

Wed., July 24 San Diego at Springfield

Fri., July 26 Springfield at Orlando

Sat., July 27 Springfield at Washington

Sun., July 28 Springfield at Philadelphia

Mon., July 29 Springfield at New York

Tues., July 30 Orange County at Springfield

Wed., July 31 Las Vegas at Springfield

A complete WTT schedule and upcoming season highlights are here. WTT semifinals will take place Friday, Aug. 2 and the championship match is Saturday, Aug. 3. Locations to be announced.

Lasers VIP and season ticket packages are available now. Contact Paul Nahon at 417-837-5800. Individual tickets will be available in May.


World TeamTennis showcases the best in professional tennis with the innovative team format co-founded by Billie Jean King in the 1970s. Recognized as the leader in professional team tennis competition, WTT features many of the world’s best players competing annually for the King Trophy, the League’s championship trophy named after King. Since the League’s debut, virtually every major champion of the Open era has played WTT, including Andre Agassi, Venus and Serena Williams, Pete Sampras, Stefanie Graf, Andy Roddick, Kim Clijsters, Bob and Mike Bryan, Martina Hingis, Maria Sharapova, Lindsay Davenport, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert and Naomi Osaka. Owned by innovator Fred Luddy, entrepreneur Eric Davidson and tennis icon Billie Jean King, WTT is one of five active U.S. pro sports leagues which has been in operation for more than 40 years, along with the NFL, NBA, NHL and MLB. Learn more at


The Springfield Lasers were established in 1996 by the late Harry Cooper, who gifted the team to the Springfield-Greene County Park Board. The Lasers are now one of the oldest teams in the WTT league, managed by the Springfield-Greene County Park Board and playing home matches at Cooper Tennis Complex. The Lasers won their first WTT Championship in 2018, after making it to the WTT finals in 2014, 2013, 2009, 2001 and 1999.

For media inquiries, contact Jenny Fillmer Edwards, Public Relations for the Springfield Lasers and Public Information Administrator for the Springfield-Greene County Park Board, at 417-224-5510 (mobile).